A biweekly publication for faculty and staff

Campus Celebrates 10th Annual Leadership Awards

May 8, 2015

The 2015 UC Merced Leadership Awards were held this April 30 at the Wallace-Dutra Amphitheater. Presented by the Margo F. Souza Student Leadership Center, the awards recognize and celebrate students, staff and faculty members, and student organizations who are doing remarkable things on campus and in the community. Hundreds of people attended the ceremony. 

Winners, selected by the 2015 Leadership Awards Committee, were honored for their commitment and leadership.
  • Outstanding Advisor Award: Kevin Storms
  • Carol Tomlinson-Keasey Award: Michael Mullarkey
  • Legacy Award: Brian Bamsch
  • Distinguished Leadership Award: Crystal Bui, Debby Lee, Jannani Krishnan, Kevin Quintanilla and Mehdi Bahrami
  • Inspirational Bobcat Award: LaTia Winfrey
  • Organization President of the Year Award: Jizelle Uyeki
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Brandon Stark
  • Social Justice Leadership Award: Kirsten Mengell
  • University Friends Circle Distinguished Volunteer Award: Dalton Rogers
  • Outstanding Fraternity and Sorority Leader Award: Jillian Foster and Leah Beza
  • Contribution to Student Affairs Award: Aja Johnson, Donald Edwards and Emily Wilson 
  • Student Organization of the Year: Student Alumni Association
  • New Student Organization of the Year: Afro Terrace Living and Learning Community 
  • University Friends Circle Community Service Organization Award: Ingenieros Unidos
  • Collaborative Program of the Year: Engineering Week
  • Program of the Year: Lu'au, Ohana
  • Excellence in Chapter Development Award: Lambda Theta Nu Sorority Inc.
  • Excellence in Philanthropy and Service Award: Phi Delta Epsilon 
  • Excellence in Chapter Scholarship Award: Sigma Chi  
  • Excellence in Chapter University Relations Award: Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • Male Sport Club Athlete of the Year: Aaron Martin
  • Female Sport Club Athlete of the Year: Hannah Miller
  • Intercollegiate Male Athlete Award: Cody Golbad